Categories
stories

How to delete permanently your social media account forever

Links that are not advertised, complex combinations, ‘crossroads’ of questions … it is not too easy to end an account on a social network, but here we are going to help you, writes Guillermo Cid for   El Confidencial.

The bomb that fell this weekend around the world still resonates, and especially on social networks, with the case of ‘Cambridge Analytica’. The American consulting firm has been accused of manipulating the data of 50 million Facebook users and has been considered one of the largest data breaches in history. The blow has been so strong that you, like many others, may have also reconsidered whether or not you should continue on social media.

If you are seriously rethinking it but do not know how to get out of these platforms, here is a small guide because the complexity varies a lot depending on the network you want to leave. From how easy it is to delete your account and your messages on Twitter or WhatsApp to how complicated it is to do it on Facebook there is a big difference.

How to delete my Facebook account

If you have decided to download from the largest social network in the world, the service itself gives you two options. ‘Deactivate’, if you prefer to ‘give the situation some time’, or ‘Definitively delete your profile’, in case you are clear that this is over.

Deactivate

  1. Go to your Facebook profile and click on the down arrow at the top right.

  2. Select ‘Settings’ .

  3. Click on the ‘General’ section in the left column.

  4. Select ‘Manage your account’ and follow the steps indicated to confirm the action.

With this it would serve you. Of course, remember that it is only a deactivation. Your profile will not be visible to the rest, nor will they be able to search for you through the platform, but certain information, such as messages or email, will continue to be stored. What’s more, to return you would only have to return to Facebook and access with your username and password.

Permanently remove

If you are determined to delete the account, the first thing they recommend is that you download a copy of the information that you have been storing on the platform since you entered it.

Once this is done, you must access this link and click on ‘Delete my account’ . At this point, you can read all the conditions involved in the deletion, but we have already warned you that, among other things, the company warns you that it will take about 90 days to delete all the information they have about you. It is important that you do not access the network again during this time or Facebook will interpret that you are regretting it.

After this period of time, there will only be some data such as the messages you sent to a friend, which cannot be deleted.

How to delete my Twitter account

If Facebook has surprised you with its complexity, the bird’s network will do just the opposite. While the first requires a series of steps before deleting all the data about you, Twitter makes everything so simple that it even makes it a little sad to close the profile.

You just have to follow these steps and all the information you have on their service will disappear permanently.

  1. Enter your Twitter account and click on the profile photo that appears in the upper right.

  2. Go to ‘ Settings and privacy ‘.

  3. When entering, go down to the limit of the page and click on ‘ Deactivate your account ‘.

  4. A new screen will appear in which you must confirm that you want to delete your profile and you will be informed that you will have 30 days to reactivate it before the information is lost forever.

And that’s it. If you have decided to leave Twitter you will not have to do anything else. Of course, they warn you that they have no power over the content indexed in Google, so your footprint can take considerably longer to disappear.

How to delete my Instagram account

Like Twitter, Instagram also makes it easy enough for you to unsubscribe from their service. Of course, in this case you will have to do it from the computer and enter a link that the platform, like its current parent (Facebook), does not advertise too much.

  1. Access this link.

  2. Indicate that you want to go and hold the ‘solution’ that Instagram gives you to stay.

  3. Enter your password again.

  4. Finally click on ‘Delete my account permanently’.

How to delete my WhatsApp account

Speaking of simplicity, nothing like WhatsApp. The messaging ‘app’ that has succeeded for its ease of use, is not complicated when it comes to deleting a profile.

  1. Open WhatsApp> Settings> Account.

  2. Select ‘ Delete my account’.

  3. Enter your number with prefix (+34 in Spain).

  4. Click on ‘Delete my account’.

How to delete my Snapchat account

Finally, we leave you the guide to leave Snapchat. The ‘app’, which exploited for its private and groundbreaking aspect, was widely criticized, at the time, for its complexity, but when it comes to abandoning it, it makes it easier for you. A tip: it is much easier if you do it through a PC.

You just have to go to this page , access your account details and follow the steps indicated by the ‘app’ until the final goodbye.

Social networks have become a very important tool for Internet users. It is the medium in which we are in communication with friends and family. Also the way to inform us of the latest developments in the world. Some even allow us to promote our company or business. They are more than just a place to upload photos. However all of this makes security more important than ever. Today we are going to explain how to log out remotely on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.

Let’s imagine that we have connected to a foreign computer. We have logged into our Facebook account, for example, and we have not closed it when we left. Our account is still open. This can be a problem if we have opened it on a public computer such as a library, for example.

It can also happen that we have lost our mobile , with all social networks open. If we do not have sufficient protection, anyone could access our notifications and our profile.

Therefore it may be interesting at some point to log out remotely on social networks. It is something simple and we are going to explain how to do it on the main platforms today such as Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *